Tuesday, August 28, 2007

What I am about to say scares me.



Whenever you start something new, such as a blog like this, you want to send some shockwaves out. Get the people talking. Say something fresh, something that is different from everyone else out there. But never in a million years did I think I would be coming out wiht this.

I think Spencer Pratt might not be such a bad guy after all.

I know, I know. Trust me, I spent all of last season despising the guy and his scheming egomaniacal ways, as he performed a LCectomy on Heidi so efficient and precise that even Preston Burke would be proud. And admist all of the between season's tabloids that featured Spencer's comments on how we would see his real relationship with Heidi, I scoffed, well first I hid myself from anyone seeing me reading the magazines, then I scoffed. But then it happened.

Spencer was asked to meet the parents. I couldn't help but empathasize. I can't personally imagine anything scarier than meeting the parents of the girl whom you see yourself spending the rest of your life with, especially when they are already predisposed to hating you. Knowing that you are being silently judged and almost assuredly found unworthy of the apple of your eye's affection, worrying that they will expose you to her for all your faults, that really can be unnerving. I have only been asked once, and I must admit my own cowardice and insecurity left me to run at all costs. But not Spencer. For all his faults, Spencer was a greater man than I, shunning his "homie's barbecue" to join Heidi for a trip to Colorado to meet the folks.

And the parents did not disappoint. While they seemed to give Spencer a chance at first, you could tell that the stepdad was clearly leary. The tension was palpable. The trust talk amongst the horses. then dinner, with Spencer, normally an outspoken cat, seemed nervous and in love, fumbling with words that he normally flows freely with. My heart went out to the guy. And clearly he isn't perfect, as his diatribe on LC showed, but I do believe that he really does love Heidi, even if their engagement seems a little unsettled. The jury is still out, but he went a long way to winning over this blogger in just 22 minutes time.

In other news from my trip to the Hills, holy buttcheeks Audrina! And why do you always look somewhat high? She may have the first documented case of DSE's. And you know, I really felt for her after Justinbobby (any relation to Rickybobby?) left her the worst breakup ever by leaving her helmet on the couch (All right, sidebar: She owns her own helmet already? And seriously, who breaks up this way? I have a buddy that got dumped by email once after a longish relationship, but that was just ridiculous, but back to my point...). so yeah, so you're feeling all bad for her and she's looking cute in her little hoodie, because, let's face it, girls look good in hoodies, and then we cut to next week and she's going out with him again. WTF! See, this is why so few nice guys exist anymore. Because we all watch The Hills and see stuff like this. And it gets rewarded.

Sadly, this was a Whitney-free episode. Am I the only one who can't get enough Whitney? Can we just spin her off right now and get it over with? Call it The Foothills or something, I would tune in every Monday at 10:30, or let's face it, whenever I got around to it on my DVR. But I would still watch, and really MTV, since you are clearly targeting the Male 24-30 demographic here, maybe you should get on that. I would be happy to serve as an Assistant Producer. Maybe even start dating Whitney, in a veiled throwback to Real World: Seattle. Remember when that was the craziest thing that ever happened on the Real World? That and some bitch slap to the girl with Lyme's Disease, which, sadly, can not be cured with actual Limes.

OK, the dryer just beeped so I think I can go get my masculinity back out of it now. At least until next Monday night. Is it football season yet?

No comments: